Can you teleport closer to a creature you are Frightened of? The Next CEO of Stack OverflowDoes teleportation trigger Booming Blade?Can a Monk use their Shadow Step ability while grappling?Would a frightened, fleeing creature be considered moving willingly?Does teleportation trigger Booming Blade?Does the frightened condition provide supernatural knowledge of the location of the source of fear?What is “closer” for the purposes of the frightened condition?Can frightened creatures stand up without “moving closer to the source of their fear”?Can you move a creature you're grappling but frightened of?Can either flavor of Restoration remove the Frightened condition?What counts as willing movement?How can a frightened creature affected by the Fear spell attack the spellcaster normally?

Multi tool use
Multi tool use

Why is the US ranked as #45 in Press Freedom ratings, despite its extremely permissive free speech laws?

Is there an equivalent of cd - for cp or mv

Is it ever safe to open a suspicious HTML file (e.g. email attachment)?

Would a grinding machine be a simple and workable propulsion system for an interplanetary spacecraft?

What connection does MS Office have to Netscape Navigator?

When "be it" is at the beginning of a sentence, what kind of structure do you call it?

Is there a reasonable and studied concept of reduction between regular languages?

How to explain the utility of binomial logistic regression when the predictors are purely categorical

From jafe to El-Guest

"Eavesdropping" vs "Listen in on"

Is it correct to say moon starry nights?

What happened in Rome, when the western empire "fell"?

Won the lottery - how do I keep the money?

My ex-girlfriend uses my Apple ID to login to her iPad, do I have to give her my Apple ID password to reset it?

Can I calculate next year's exemptions based on this year's refund/amount owed?

Can this note be analyzed as a non-chord tone?

What was the first Unix version to run on a microcomputer?

How many extra stops do monopods offer for tele photographs?

How did Beeri the Hittite come up with naming his daughter Yehudit?

Calculate the Mean mean of two numbers

What day is it again?

Is there a difference between "Fahrstuhl" and "Aufzug"?

Help understanding this unsettling image of Titan, Epimetheus, and Saturn's rings?

What was Carter Burkes job for "the company" in "Aliens"?



Can you teleport closer to a creature you are Frightened of?



The Next CEO of Stack OverflowDoes teleportation trigger Booming Blade?Can a Monk use their Shadow Step ability while grappling?Would a frightened, fleeing creature be considered moving willingly?Does teleportation trigger Booming Blade?Does the frightened condition provide supernatural knowledge of the location of the source of fear?What is “closer” for the purposes of the frightened condition?Can frightened creatures stand up without “moving closer to the source of their fear”?Can you move a creature you're grappling but frightened of?Can either flavor of Restoration remove the Frightened condition?What counts as willing movement?How can a frightened creature affected by the Fear spell attack the spellcaster normally?










8












$begingroup$


I encountered a situation where I was Frightened of a large creature. By the words of the Frightened condition:




The creature can’t willingly move closer to the source of its fear.




Could you use the Misty Step spell (or some other means of teleportation) to get closer, since the rules only specifically mention moving closer?



The closest thing I could find was this question about Booming Blade, which seems to suggest that this should be allowed.










share|improve this question











$endgroup$
















    8












    $begingroup$


    I encountered a situation where I was Frightened of a large creature. By the words of the Frightened condition:




    The creature can’t willingly move closer to the source of its fear.




    Could you use the Misty Step spell (or some other means of teleportation) to get closer, since the rules only specifically mention moving closer?



    The closest thing I could find was this question about Booming Blade, which seems to suggest that this should be allowed.










    share|improve this question











    $endgroup$














      8












      8








      8





      $begingroup$


      I encountered a situation where I was Frightened of a large creature. By the words of the Frightened condition:




      The creature can’t willingly move closer to the source of its fear.




      Could you use the Misty Step spell (or some other means of teleportation) to get closer, since the rules only specifically mention moving closer?



      The closest thing I could find was this question about Booming Blade, which seems to suggest that this should be allowed.










      share|improve this question











      $endgroup$




      I encountered a situation where I was Frightened of a large creature. By the words of the Frightened condition:




      The creature can’t willingly move closer to the source of its fear.




      Could you use the Misty Step spell (or some other means of teleportation) to get closer, since the rules only specifically mention moving closer?



      The closest thing I could find was this question about Booming Blade, which seems to suggest that this should be allowed.







      dnd-5e teleportation fear






      share|improve this question















      share|improve this question













      share|improve this question




      share|improve this question








      edited 2 hours ago









      V2Blast

      26k589159




      26k589159










      asked 2 hours ago









      Mwr247Mwr247

      2,6021323




      2,6021323




















          1 Answer
          1






          active

          oldest

          votes


















          9












          $begingroup$

          Yes.



          By RAW, teleportation does not count as movement. What counts as movement is explained in the Basic Rules in the section on Adventuring: Movement. Though not necessarily an exclusive enumeration of all possible forms of movement, this section details the following as forms of movement: walking, climbing, swimming, crawling, jumping, traveling, and marching. None of these fits the description of instantaneously appearing at another location, so by implication teleportation isn't intended to count as a form of movement.



          But maybe not...?



          By RAI, the point of the frightened condition is clear: if you're frightened, you're too afraid to willingly approach or close the distance with the source of your fear. It's a bit pedantic to suggest that teleportation doesn't count, despite the RAW, and a DM could reasonably forbid getting closer to a source of fear via teleportation.



          In the interests of a smooth and non-antagonistic experience at the table, it's probably best if everyone is on the same page with the DM before attempting anything clever. If you're the player, you'd probably better ask how the DM would rule before expecting that teleportation would work.






          share|improve this answer









          $endgroup$








          • 2




            $begingroup$
            I think at issue here is whether one should take a game mechanic interpretation of any reference to moving as "movement" as per your rules link, or an English language interpretation of movement as per your "But maybe not....?" section. This is a recurring theme in 5E as many game mechanics terms overlap with related common language uses, and the rules in 5E have not been normalised to the degree of 4E, Magic The Gathering or a legal document.
            $endgroup$
            – Neil Slater
            1 hour ago











          Your Answer





          StackExchange.ifUsing("editor", function ()
          return StackExchange.using("mathjaxEditing", function ()
          StackExchange.MarkdownEditor.creationCallbacks.add(function (editor, postfix)
          StackExchange.mathjaxEditing.prepareWmdForMathJax(editor, postfix, [["\$", "\$"]]);
          );
          );
          , "mathjax-editing");

          StackExchange.ready(function()
          var channelOptions =
          tags: "".split(" "),
          id: "122"
          ;
          initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);

          StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function()
          // Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
          if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled)
          StackExchange.using("snippets", function()
          createEditor();
          );

          else
          createEditor();

          );

          function createEditor()
          StackExchange.prepareEditor(
          heartbeatType: 'answer',
          autoActivateHeartbeat: false,
          convertImagesToLinks: false,
          noModals: true,
          showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
          reputationToPostImages: null,
          bindNavPrevention: true,
          postfix: "",
          imageUploader:
          brandingHtml: "Powered by u003ca class="icon-imgur-white" href="https://imgur.com/"u003eu003c/au003e",
          contentPolicyHtml: "User contributions licensed under u003ca href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/"u003ecc by-sa 3.0 with attribution requiredu003c/au003e u003ca href="https://stackoverflow.com/legal/content-policy"u003e(content policy)u003c/au003e",
          allowUrls: true
          ,
          noCode: true, onDemand: true,
          discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
          ,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
          );



          );













          draft saved

          draft discarded


















          StackExchange.ready(
          function ()
          StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f144235%2fcan-you-teleport-closer-to-a-creature-you-are-frightened-of%23new-answer', 'question_page');

          );

          Post as a guest















          Required, but never shown

























          1 Answer
          1






          active

          oldest

          votes








          1 Answer
          1






          active

          oldest

          votes









          active

          oldest

          votes






          active

          oldest

          votes









          9












          $begingroup$

          Yes.



          By RAW, teleportation does not count as movement. What counts as movement is explained in the Basic Rules in the section on Adventuring: Movement. Though not necessarily an exclusive enumeration of all possible forms of movement, this section details the following as forms of movement: walking, climbing, swimming, crawling, jumping, traveling, and marching. None of these fits the description of instantaneously appearing at another location, so by implication teleportation isn't intended to count as a form of movement.



          But maybe not...?



          By RAI, the point of the frightened condition is clear: if you're frightened, you're too afraid to willingly approach or close the distance with the source of your fear. It's a bit pedantic to suggest that teleportation doesn't count, despite the RAW, and a DM could reasonably forbid getting closer to a source of fear via teleportation.



          In the interests of a smooth and non-antagonistic experience at the table, it's probably best if everyone is on the same page with the DM before attempting anything clever. If you're the player, you'd probably better ask how the DM would rule before expecting that teleportation would work.






          share|improve this answer









          $endgroup$








          • 2




            $begingroup$
            I think at issue here is whether one should take a game mechanic interpretation of any reference to moving as "movement" as per your rules link, or an English language interpretation of movement as per your "But maybe not....?" section. This is a recurring theme in 5E as many game mechanics terms overlap with related common language uses, and the rules in 5E have not been normalised to the degree of 4E, Magic The Gathering or a legal document.
            $endgroup$
            – Neil Slater
            1 hour ago















          9












          $begingroup$

          Yes.



          By RAW, teleportation does not count as movement. What counts as movement is explained in the Basic Rules in the section on Adventuring: Movement. Though not necessarily an exclusive enumeration of all possible forms of movement, this section details the following as forms of movement: walking, climbing, swimming, crawling, jumping, traveling, and marching. None of these fits the description of instantaneously appearing at another location, so by implication teleportation isn't intended to count as a form of movement.



          But maybe not...?



          By RAI, the point of the frightened condition is clear: if you're frightened, you're too afraid to willingly approach or close the distance with the source of your fear. It's a bit pedantic to suggest that teleportation doesn't count, despite the RAW, and a DM could reasonably forbid getting closer to a source of fear via teleportation.



          In the interests of a smooth and non-antagonistic experience at the table, it's probably best if everyone is on the same page with the DM before attempting anything clever. If you're the player, you'd probably better ask how the DM would rule before expecting that teleportation would work.






          share|improve this answer









          $endgroup$








          • 2




            $begingroup$
            I think at issue here is whether one should take a game mechanic interpretation of any reference to moving as "movement" as per your rules link, or an English language interpretation of movement as per your "But maybe not....?" section. This is a recurring theme in 5E as many game mechanics terms overlap with related common language uses, and the rules in 5E have not been normalised to the degree of 4E, Magic The Gathering or a legal document.
            $endgroup$
            – Neil Slater
            1 hour ago













          9












          9








          9





          $begingroup$

          Yes.



          By RAW, teleportation does not count as movement. What counts as movement is explained in the Basic Rules in the section on Adventuring: Movement. Though not necessarily an exclusive enumeration of all possible forms of movement, this section details the following as forms of movement: walking, climbing, swimming, crawling, jumping, traveling, and marching. None of these fits the description of instantaneously appearing at another location, so by implication teleportation isn't intended to count as a form of movement.



          But maybe not...?



          By RAI, the point of the frightened condition is clear: if you're frightened, you're too afraid to willingly approach or close the distance with the source of your fear. It's a bit pedantic to suggest that teleportation doesn't count, despite the RAW, and a DM could reasonably forbid getting closer to a source of fear via teleportation.



          In the interests of a smooth and non-antagonistic experience at the table, it's probably best if everyone is on the same page with the DM before attempting anything clever. If you're the player, you'd probably better ask how the DM would rule before expecting that teleportation would work.






          share|improve this answer









          $endgroup$



          Yes.



          By RAW, teleportation does not count as movement. What counts as movement is explained in the Basic Rules in the section on Adventuring: Movement. Though not necessarily an exclusive enumeration of all possible forms of movement, this section details the following as forms of movement: walking, climbing, swimming, crawling, jumping, traveling, and marching. None of these fits the description of instantaneously appearing at another location, so by implication teleportation isn't intended to count as a form of movement.



          But maybe not...?



          By RAI, the point of the frightened condition is clear: if you're frightened, you're too afraid to willingly approach or close the distance with the source of your fear. It's a bit pedantic to suggest that teleportation doesn't count, despite the RAW, and a DM could reasonably forbid getting closer to a source of fear via teleportation.



          In the interests of a smooth and non-antagonistic experience at the table, it's probably best if everyone is on the same page with the DM before attempting anything clever. If you're the player, you'd probably better ask how the DM would rule before expecting that teleportation would work.







          share|improve this answer












          share|improve this answer



          share|improve this answer










          answered 2 hours ago









          BloodcinderBloodcinder

          23.2k382141




          23.2k382141







          • 2




            $begingroup$
            I think at issue here is whether one should take a game mechanic interpretation of any reference to moving as "movement" as per your rules link, or an English language interpretation of movement as per your "But maybe not....?" section. This is a recurring theme in 5E as many game mechanics terms overlap with related common language uses, and the rules in 5E have not been normalised to the degree of 4E, Magic The Gathering or a legal document.
            $endgroup$
            – Neil Slater
            1 hour ago












          • 2




            $begingroup$
            I think at issue here is whether one should take a game mechanic interpretation of any reference to moving as "movement" as per your rules link, or an English language interpretation of movement as per your "But maybe not....?" section. This is a recurring theme in 5E as many game mechanics terms overlap with related common language uses, and the rules in 5E have not been normalised to the degree of 4E, Magic The Gathering or a legal document.
            $endgroup$
            – Neil Slater
            1 hour ago







          2




          2




          $begingroup$
          I think at issue here is whether one should take a game mechanic interpretation of any reference to moving as "movement" as per your rules link, or an English language interpretation of movement as per your "But maybe not....?" section. This is a recurring theme in 5E as many game mechanics terms overlap with related common language uses, and the rules in 5E have not been normalised to the degree of 4E, Magic The Gathering or a legal document.
          $endgroup$
          – Neil Slater
          1 hour ago




          $begingroup$
          I think at issue here is whether one should take a game mechanic interpretation of any reference to moving as "movement" as per your rules link, or an English language interpretation of movement as per your "But maybe not....?" section. This is a recurring theme in 5E as many game mechanics terms overlap with related common language uses, and the rules in 5E have not been normalised to the degree of 4E, Magic The Gathering or a legal document.
          $endgroup$
          – Neil Slater
          1 hour ago

















          draft saved

          draft discarded
















































          Thanks for contributing an answer to Role-playing Games Stack Exchange!


          • Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

          But avoid


          • Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.

          • Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.

          Use MathJax to format equations. MathJax reference.


          To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.




          draft saved


          draft discarded














          StackExchange.ready(
          function ()
          StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f144235%2fcan-you-teleport-closer-to-a-creature-you-are-frightened-of%23new-answer', 'question_page');

          );

          Post as a guest















          Required, but never shown





















































          Required, but never shown














          Required, but never shown












          Required, but never shown







          Required, but never shown

































          Required, but never shown














          Required, but never shown












          Required, but never shown







          Required, but never shown







          Ce8D4M5 3qwEN,JByh7,uCBBb cFuqt,vFqAwntpNo,zNvbO7L0yDSejDWSDN2d 8UQGmRaie,Mgb oWok2wISFpKDF1v
          qaMLcwEdcDDQWBkk,RxnkQ7e ePFbxLa4d9ik esU,G 1F J4dpI2YN nqT0F1gAtVxRCG0,b,Tza7LvKV,e

          Popular posts from this blog

          Creating centerline of river in QGIS? The 2019 Stack Overflow Developer Survey Results Are In Announcing the arrival of Valued Associate #679: Cesar Manara Planned maintenance scheduled April 17/18, 2019 at 00:00UTC (8:00pm US/Eastern)Finding centrelines from polygons in QGIS?Splitting line into two lines with GRASS GIS?Centroid of the equator and a pointpostgis: problems creating flow direction polyline; not all needed connections are drawnhow to make decent sense from scattered river depth measurementsQGIS Interpolation on Curved Grid (River DEMs)How to create automatic parking baysShortest path creation between two linesclipping layer using query builder in QGISFinding which side of closest polyline point lies on in QGIS?Create centerline from multi-digitized roadway lines Qgis 2.18Getting bathymetric contours confined only within river banks using QGIS?

          What is the result of assigning to std::vector::begin()? The Next CEO of Stack OverflowWhat are the differences between a pointer variable and a reference variable in C++?What does the explicit keyword mean?Concatenating two std::vectorsHow to find out if an item is present in a std::vector?Why is “using namespace std” considered bad practice?What is the “-->” operator in C++?What is the easiest way to initialize a std::vector with hardcoded elements?What is The Rule of Three?What are the basic rules and idioms for operator overloading?Why are std::begin and std::end “not memory safe”?